2018 Green Achievement Awards

The 2018 Annual Awards Ceremony and Reception was held in the Ohio Union at The Ohio State University in Columbus on April 26. The 2018 Green Achievement Awards were presented to:

2018 Academic Award Winner – Denison Universit

In December 2017, Denison University in Granville, our 2018 Academic Award winner, completed the installation of 10-acre, 2.33 MW solar array projected to generate 15% of Denison’s annual electric load, reduce the university’s carbon footprint by 10%, and result in savings of up to $100,000 a year. It is currently the largest solar array at a higher education institution in Ohio. Located on Denison’s 350-acre Biological Reserve, the area will be re-planted as pollinator habitat. Jeremy King, Director of Sustainability and Campus Improvement at Denison, will share more information on the installation and other significant measures the University is undertaking. Denison is a member of the Climate Leadership Network

2018 Nonprofit Award Winner – The Ohio Environmental Council

For almost fifty years, The Ohio Environmental Council has represented individuals and organizations working together to restore, protect, and strengthen the quality of life for families and communities by advocating for a healthier, more sustainable Ohio. The breadth and depth of their expertise has been put to use in legislative, regulatory, and legal settings on a wide range of issues, including clean energy, air and water quality, and public land use. The creation of a new entity – the Ohio Environmental Council Action Fund – is designed to build the political power of the environmental movement in Ohio through strategic issue and electoral campaigns. Under the leadership of Executive Director Heather Taylor-Miesle, the OEC has entered a new era of growth and accomplishment and has earned the 2018 Nonprofit Award.

2018 Business Award Winner – Ecohouse Solar

Ecohouse Solar  helps home owners and small businesses in Central Ohio reduce their energy costs and carbon footprint by designing and installing high quality solar electric systems. Celebrating their tenth year in business, Ecohouse Solar is a valued member of GEO and has supported and participated in numerous GEO activities over the years. Their customers’ homes have been featured frequently on the Annual Green Energy Ohio Tour, and the company has been a generous sponsor of the Tour every year since 2011. Founder and President Kevin Eigel designed and built his own solar powered home in 2002, a project from which he developed his passion for energy efficiency and renewable energy. In the tradition of honoring Ohio companies dedicated to promoting and deploying clean energy, Ecohouse Solar is the 2018 Business Award winner.

2018 Community Award Winner – Graham Local Schools

Graham Local Schools in St. Paris, Ohio is an example of what can accomplished by dedicated administrators, teachers and students. In 2012, the district implemented an Energy Conservation Project that resulted in utility savings of over $409,681 in three years. The project included replacement of interior lighting; installation of exterior lighting controls, advanced energy management programming, and HVAC controls; upgrades to water and air filtration systems, and installation of smart exhaust hoods on kitchen units. But they didn’t stop there. A team of Middle School students led by teacher Tracy Merica developed and designed a 190KW PPA solar array system that would not require a capital outlay and they have presented their plan to the Board of Education. For informing the next generation and taking control of its future, the Graham Local School District is receiving the 2018 Green Energy Ohio Community Award.

2018 Individual Award Winners – James Gravelle, Greg Kuss, and Robert Martin

Together, they have given over four decades of service to Green Energy Ohio. They have served as members and officers of the Board of Directors and have been among GEO’s most generous donors. Their leadership guided the organization through the early years of increasing awareness and education on clean energy technologies, and ensured that these technologies were firmly implanted in the Ohio landscape. As they retire from the Board, everyone who cares about GEO and Ohio’s energy future owes a debt of gratitude to James Gravelle, Greg Kuss, and Robert Martin, our 2018 Individual award winners.